Guest Blogger: Moving Art…For the Young and Young at Heart

We inaugurate our guest blogger series with the reflections of a USC alumnus, WWII Marine fighter pilot and retired dentist who experienced some of the most gorgeous and spiritually living moments of his 94 years through Moving Art.

“My kids, my grandkids and my great grandkids will most certainly not miss this opportunity.  I see no reason to retire each night without viewing again one of the Moving Art series.

I discovered Moving Art while hovering on the brink of syncope surfing through the Documentaries Genre on Netflix. Revived by what I found, I Googled Louis Schwartzberg and was further amazed to discover the man and his history. I had given up paying money to see Hollywood productions that seemed to favor an audience of 14 year-old adolescents featuring their all-purpose adjective, verb and noun commonly known as the F-word.  Primarily demolition-intensive Armageddons, heavy on special effects and light on genuine humor or beauty, current offerings failed to meet my criteria for education, entertainment,  inspiration or relaxation.

I enjoy Louie’s work because I am entranced by macro photography and cinematography. Couple that with time-lapse, high definition and rock-steady helo shots in slow motion of insects, flowers, “how it’s made” and editing done by somebody who knows exactly how to extract the last bit of drama from things diverse as aerobatic hummingbirds and emerging ferns and—– What’s not to love?

Eschewing narration, even by somebody like Henry Strozier, the perfect adaption of soothing music by Ludovico Einaudi makes for a wonderful 25 minutes. More often, the program takes upwards of 40 minutes while viewers keep interrupting with LOOK AT THAT! and demanding a rewind .

My only regret is that [Louie] wasn’t around when I was a kid.

Having spent many years of my youth armed with whatever tools I could afford, photography offered me endless satisfaction, frustration and inspiration to attain results that seemed always just out of reach. Leicas, Rolliflexes, Bolexes and Bell and Howells, Kodak Cine Specials—all turned out to be tools, excellent tools, but as my wife pointed out, you can’t eat 16mm film, even enhanced with a magnetic stripe.  Results obviously had to be born and nourished in the mind. Mine never quite made it to Louie’s  level.

That’s why I abandoned a dream of becoming a photo-journalist for National Geographic and practiced dentistry for 66 years where I accumulated a lovely portfolio of intra-oral pictures of unhealthy teeth and bleeding gums.

My daughter-in-law is the principal of a middle school where everybody from six-year-old moppets to over-stimulated 8th graders are daily getting an opportunity to share  Louie Schwartzerg’s awesome  concept of Moving Art. My only regret is that he wasn’t around when I was a kid.  Nanook of the North did inspire me to visit Alaska as did John Ford’s views of Monument Valley, but my family’s lives will not be so circumscribed.

Thank you!”

Dr. Robert E. Horseman, graduate USC 1943, three years in Navy/Marines as pilot, married, 3 children

Watch the aforementioned documentaries on Netflix here

How has Moving Art moved you? We want you to share your passion with the Moving Art community. Please submit guest blog posts to shannon@MovingArt.com

Leave a Reply

